Explanation: Who is allowed to face the public vote in the first “patriot only” elections in Hong Kong next week?

In March 2021, Beijing passed a law to ensure that “patriots” rule Hong Kong before the 2021 Legislative Council elections on December 19. candidates. The Hong Kong government has said the overhaul will ensure the city’s stability and prosperity. But the changes also drew international condemnation, as they made it nearly impossible to run for pro-democracy candidates.

Major pandemocratic groups have not fielded any candidates in the wake of the overhaul, while most of the city’s opposition figures remain behind bars, have gone into exile abroad, quit politics or are banned of candidacy.

The new delimitation of the 10 geographical constituencies. Photo: Government of Hong Kong.

Polls predict there could be low turnout, while the government has warned it is illegal to argue for protest votes or a boycott. The total number of seats in the Legislative Assembly increased from 70 to 90, but the number of seats in the newly redesigned geographic constituencies – elected directly by the general public – increased from 35 to 20. HKFP rounds up who has been approved to run for directly elected seats. Two candidates from each constituency will become legislators.

Candidates for Hong Kong Island West

  • Districts included: Central and West District, South District and Island District
  • Projected population in June 2021: 698,900
  • Number of registered voters: 374,302


  1. Regina Ip Lau Suk-yee: Ip, a seasoned politician, is the chairman and founder of the pro-Beijing New People’s Party. She is currently a member of the Executive Council and the Legislative Council.
  2. Chan Hok-fung: Chan served as a district councilor in the central and western district of the pro-Beijing DAB from 2008 to 2019.
  3. Fong Lung-fei: Fong is a member of the Islands District Council after winning a seat against a pro-Beijing candidate in 2019. He describes himself as a “pro-democracy independent candidate.”

Candidates for Hong Kong Island East

  • Districts included: East District and Wan Chai District
  • Projected population in June 2021: 718,600
  • Number of registered voters: 424,849


  1. Edward Leung Hei: Leung has been the CEO of a real estate developer and a member of the DAB since 2017, but has never stood for legislative or district elections before.
  2. Marcus Liu Tin-shing: Liu is running for the pro-Beijing New People Party after joining in May 2020. He ran and lost in both the 2016 LegCo elections and the 2019 district council elections.
  3. Stanley Ng Chaupei: Ng chairs the Federation of Pro-Beijing Trade Unions. He is a former part-time consultant for the Central Government Policy Unit.
  4. Jason Poon Chuk-hung: Poon was the whistleblower during the MTR Hung Hom project scandal in 2018. He said he was neither of the “pro-establishment” nor the “non-establishment” camp.

Candidates for the New Southwest Territories

  • Districts included: Kwai Tsing District and Tsuen Wan District
  • Projected population in June 2021: 824,600
  • Number of registered voters: 509,991


  1. Adrian Lau Cheuk-yu: Lau describes himself as an independent democrat.
  2. Ben Chan Han-pan: Chan represents the pro-Beijing DAB.
  3. Joephy Chan Wing-yan: Chan represents the Pro-Beijing Federation of Trade Unions.

Candidates for the New Southeast Territories

  • Districts included: Sai Kung district and eastern part of Sha Tin
  • Projected population in June 2021: 746,400
  • Number of registered voters: 472,203


  1. Daryl Choi Ming-hei: Choi was once a member of the Civic Party and now describes himself as a grassroots Democrat.
  2. Stanley Li Sai-wing: Li is a pro-Beijing DAB candidate.
  3. Lam So-wai: Lam is a pro-establishment candidate, representing Professional Power Limited.

Candidates for the New Northwest Territories

  • Districts included: Tuen Mun District and the southeastern part of Yuen Long
  • Projected population in June 2021: 791,700
  • Number of registered voters: 467,971


  1. Holden chow Ho-ding: Chow represents the pro-Beijing DAB.
  2. Michael Tien Puk-sun: Tien is a pro-establishment candidate and the chairman of the Roundtable political group.
  3. Caspar Wong Chun-long: Wong is a representative of Third Side, which describes itself as a “non-pro-establishment” party.

Candidates for North North East Territories

  • Districts included: Tai Po District and the western part of Sha Tin
  • Projected population in June 2021: 775,100
  • Number of registered voters: 477,742


  1. Dominic Lee Tsz-king: Lee is a representative of the pro-Beijing New People’s Party.
  2. Nelson Wong Sing-chi: Wong, a former Democratic Party member running as independent.
  3. Gary Chan Hak-kan: Chan is a member of the pro-Beijing DAB.
  4. Allan Wong Wing Ho: Wong is a candidate for the “non-pro-establishment” Path of Democracy think tank.

Candidates for the New Northern Territories

  • Districts included: Northern District and the northwestern part of Yuen Long
  • Projected population in June 2021: 694,200
  • Number of registered voters: 430,962


  1. Gary Zhang Xin-yu: Zhang is a pro-establishment candidate for a group called New Prospect for Hong Kong.
  2. Fan of Lau Kwok: Lau is a pro-Beijing DAB candidate and is currently a member of LegCo.
  3. Wilson Kit Shum Ho: Shum presents himself as independent.
  4. Judy Tzeng Li-wen: Tzeng is a former member of the pro-democracy People Power party.

Candidates for West Kowloon

  • Districts included: Yau Tsim Mong District and Sham Shui Po District
  • Projected population in June 2021: 780,000
  • Number of registered voters: 380,749


  1. Scott Leung Man-kwong: Leung served as a district councilor to Sham Shui Po from 2007 to 2019, when he lost to a pro-democracy candidate.
  2. Frederick Fung Kin-kee: Fung is a seasoned Democrat who presents himself as independent.
  3. Vincent Cheng Wing-shun: Cheng represents the pro-Beijing DAB.

Candidates for East Kowloon

  • Districts included: Kwun Tong District and the south-eastern part of Wong Tai Sin
  • Projected population in June 2021: 771,800
  • Number of registered voters: 474,786


  1. Bill Tang Ka-piu: Tang was a pro-Beijing legislative councilor between 2012 and 2016 and a district councilor until 2019.
  2. Ngan Man-yu: Ngan is a member of the Kwun Tong District Council for the pro-Beijing DAB.
  3. Chan Chun-hung: Chan is a member of the self-proclaimed “non-pro-establishment” Way of Democracy led by Ronny Tong. He lost in the 2019 District Council race with 336 votes.
  4. Philip Wu Kin-wa: Wu is a member of the “gau wu” group, a protest group originating from the umbrella movement. He lost the 2011 District Council election.
  5. Li Ka-yan: Li is a member of the Chinese medicine sector electoral committee. She lost in the 2019 District Council elections.

Candidates for Kowloon Central

  • Districts included: Kowloon City District and the northwestern part of Wong Tai Sin
  • Projected population in June 2021: 778,900
  • Number of registered voters: 454,179


  1. Starry Lee Wai-king: Lee is the current president of the pro-Beijing DAB.
  2. Kitson Yang Wing Kit: Yang is a pro-establishment candidate representing the Kowloon Federation of Associations.
  3. Mandy Tam Heung-man: Tam describes himself as a member of the democratic bloc. She was formerly a member of the Civic Party, but is running as independent.

Hong Kong Free Press is a new nonprofit English-language news source seeking to unite critical voices on local and national affairs. Free-to-play and fully independent, HKFP comes amid growing concerns over Hong Kong’s decline in press freedom and at an important time in the city’s constitutional development.

More by Hong Kong Free Press

Previous How Cobra Kai Learning Miyagi-Do Is Changing The Rules Of The Karate Kid
Next Robbie Davies eliminates Hank Lundy in two rounds